Hotel Accommodation



Europe trips Europe travel guide European countries capitals Europe hotel accommodation reservations Europe transportation Europe travel Insurance Europe travel packages tickets


Europe Geography and Demographics


European surface area covers over ten million sq. km. - a great territory for exploration and pleasurable discoveries, no matter what attractions you are looking for you will find them! There are 5 main geographic areas in Europe, each one including large European regions as follows:
Scandinavia: Iceland, Finland, Denmark, Sweden and Norway
Central Europe: Austria, Hungary, Germany, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Slovenia.
Eastern Europe: the Baltic States of Estonia, Lithuania and Latvia; Romania, Ukraine.
South-East Europe: Croatia, Albania, Serbia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Greece, Turkey.
Western Europe: the United Kingdom and Ireland, France, Switzerland, Italy, Cyprus, Monaco, Malta, the Iberian Peninsula - Spain and Portugal; and Benelux - the Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg.

According to stats from 2005, in the beginning of the 21st century, Europe is the 3rd most populated area on the globe - after China and India. Europe has exclusively rich ethno-cultural and linguistic heritage - Nordic, Mediterranean and Anglo-Saxon cultures live together in harmony, while there is still great diversity of people’s traditions and lifestyles.  
There are thirty-five official languages in Europe, expanded by other 222 secondary languages.
Three major religions prevail in the European countries:
The countries from Northern Europe are mainly Protestant - Scandinavia, United Kingdom, Northern Germany, the Netherlands, etc.
Eastern and South-Eastern Europe is mostly Orthodox – Bulgaria, Russia, Ukraine, Romania, Greece, Serbia.
Catholicism is the prevailing religion in twenty-three European countries, such as Spain, Austria, France, Southern Germany, Portugal, Poland, Italy, Slovenia, Belgium, Croatia etc.
The Muslim religion is also present throughout Europe, but mostly in 3 countries – Albania, Turkey, Bosnia-Herzegovina.
Another classification of the regions in Europe divide them as: Mediterranean Europe, Benelux, A Road of Emperors and Kings, The Hanseatic League, Central Europe, The Danube, European Islands, Scandinavia, the Alps, Southeast Europe, The Atlantic Coast from North to South, The King’s Road, The Pyrenees, from Ocean to Sea, UK and Ireland, The Baltic States.

Regions in Europe:

Aberdeen and the Tayside and Grampian Regions, Aegean Islands, Alentejo and Ribatejo, Alsace-Lorraine, Andalusia, Apulia, Aragon, Balearic Islands, Basque Country, Belgian Coast, Bernese Oberland, Bohemia, Bohuslan Coast, Bologna and Emilia Romagna, Bordeaux and the Atlantic Coast, Bornholm, Brittany, Burgenland, Burgundy, Campania and the Amalfi Coast, Cantabria and Asturias, Cappadocia and the Interior, Carinthia, Catalonia, Cazma, Bjelovar and Daruvar, Central Dutch Provinces, Central Greece, Central Jutland, Central Sicily, Central Switzerland, Central and Southern Aegean Coasts, Cercedilla, Cesme Peninsula, Champagne Country, Chianti, Coastal Tuscany and Pisa, Cornwall, Costa Blanca, Costa Brava, Costa del Sol, Costa do Sol, Cotswolds, Counties Galway, Westmeath and Offaly, County Clare, County Kerry, County Kildare, County Kilkenny, County Louth, County Mayo, County Meath, County Waterford, County Wexford, County Wicklow, Crete, Crisana and the Banat, Cyclades, Danube Bend, Den Helder, Devon, Dodecanese, Dolomites and South Tirol, Drenthe, East Anglia and Cambridge, East Cantons, East Central Norway, East Midlands, Eastern Europe, Engadine, Estremadura, Extremadura, Fife and the Central Highlands, Finland's Lake Region, Finnish Lapland, Flevoland, Franconia and the German Danube, French Alps, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Funen, Galicia, Galway Bay Coast, Gelderland, Grisons, Groningen, Guadalupe, Spain Halland, Hampshire and Dorset, Ihlara Valley, Inland Croatia, Inland Istria, Inverness and the West Highlands, Ionian Islands, Istria, Jostedal Glacier Area, Julian Alps, Kent, Surrey and Sussex, Kvarner Gulf, Lake Balaton, Lake Constance (Bodensee), Lake District, Lake Geneva Lake Vanern and the Gota Canal, Land Salzburg, Languedoc-Roussillon, Liguria and the Italian Riveria, Limburg, Llyen Peninsula, Loire Valley, Lombardy, Lonjsko Polje Area, Lower Austria, Lower Dalmatia, Lower Saxony and North Hesse, Luxembourg Ardenne, Makarska Riviera, Manzaneres el Real, Maramures, Meuse Valley, Moldavia, Moravia, Motovun, Groznjan, Livade and Oprtalj, Navarre and La Rioja, Noord Brabant, Normandy and Mont-St-Michel, North Holland Province, North Jutland, North Zealand, Northeastern Hungary, Northeastern Switzerland, Northeastern Tuscany, Northern Norway, Northern Dobrogea, Northern Dutch Provinces, Northern Greece, Northern Ireland, Northern Italy, Northern Umbria, Northwest England, Northwestern Ireland, Northwestern Switzerland, Northwestern Tuscany, Old Castile, Opatija Riviera, Oslofjord, Outside Edinburgh, Outside Glasgow, Outside Madrid, Outside Stockholm, Outside Zagreb, Overijssel, Patones de Arriba, Peloponnese, Piedmont Wine Country, Piedmont and Valle d'Aosta, Porto and Environs, Provence and the Riviera, Pueblos Blancos and the Sherry Triangle, Rhone Valley, Roc, Hum and Buzet, Samobor to the Zumberak, Saxony and Thuringia, Schleswig-Holstein, Shakespeare Country, Skane, South Holland Province, South Tipperary, South Zealand, South of the Tagus, Southeast Ireland, Southeast Sicily, Southeast Sweden, Southern Dutch Provinces, Southern Hungary, Southern Norway, Southern Sicily, Southern Tuscany, Southern Umbria, Southwestern Bulgaria, Sporades, Styria, Swedish Lapland, Thames Valley, The Algarve, The Ardennes, The Baltic Coast, The Basque Country, The Bavarian Alps, The Beiras, The Black Forest, The Borders and Galloway Regions, The Dordogne and Perigord, The High Tatras, The Karst, The Lakes, The Massif Central, The Minho, The Mosel Valley, The Moselle Valley, The Neckar Valley, The Oberland, The Rhineland, The Romantic Road, The Soca Valley, The Unterland, The Veneto, Ticino, Transylvania, Turquoise and Mediterranean Coasts, Tuscany and Umbria, Tyrol and Innsbruck, Tyrrhenian Coast, Upper Austria, Upper Dalmatia, Upper Shannon River Valley, Valais, Valdichiana, Varmland and Dalarna, Vorarlberg, Wachau-Danube Valley, Wallachia, West Coast Fjord Country, West of Glasgow, Western Greece, Western Ireland, Western Sicily, Western Slavonia, Wienerwald, Wiltshire and Somerset, Yorkshire and Northumbria, Zagorje Region, Zeeland.


About us | All rights reserved